Where Ideas grow

Sobrinho Simões gets new distinction

Manuel Sobrinho Simões has been granted another award, this time around the Pío del Río Hortega Award. Given by the Spanish Society of Pathological Anatomy, this prize aims to acknowledge pathologists who have led an outstanding career, either teaching, doing research or providing support to this professional society.


Sobrinho Simões is an honorary member of the Royal Academy of Medical Sciences of Catalonia and Balearic Islands (Barcelona, 1988), Brazilian Society of Cancerology (Rio de Janeiro, 1997), Spanish Society of Pathological Anatomy (Madrid, 1998) (Argentina, 2001) and Portuguese Endocrinology Societies (2004) and Surgery (2005). With this award, he joins the Spanish Society of Pathological Anatomy, also as an honorary member.


In addition to his scientific activity, Sobrinho Simões cemented his teaching career at the Faculty of Medicine of the University of Porto (FMUP), his alma mater, where he was Full Professor of Pathological Anatomy until his retirement in 2017. He also taught at the Faculty University of Zhengzhou and about 30 European, North American, Latin American and Asian universities and oncology institutes. Sobrinho Simões still found time to be Head of Service at Hospital S. João, in Porto.


Voted Most Influential Pathologist in the World by the scientific journal The Pathologist, in 2015, Sobrinho Simões won several other national and international awards throughout his career: Bordalo Prize - Science (1996), Prize Seiva Trupe - Science (2002), Prize Pessoa (2002) and the Ciência Viva Montepio Grand Prize (2016). He was also awarded the title of Commander and Grand Officer of the Royal Order of Norway (2003 and 2010), with the Grand Cross of the Order of the Infante D. Henrique (2004) and with the Grand Cross of the Military Order of Saint James of the Sword (2017). In 2012, Manuel Sobrinho Simões received the gold medal for distinguished services from the Ministry of Health and, in 2017, the Prize of Merit of Competence in Health Services Management assigned by the Order of Physicians. In 2018 he was awarded a Gago Prize in European Science Policy.